RSS

What now?

10 Apr

After Easter is over and we have experienced the joy of Jesus’ resurrection, spent time with our family and friends and maybe had some Easter candy, we sometimes wonder, “Now what?”.  I was pondering this question when I thought of an experience that I had at our sunrise service on Easter morning.

We have a cross that we use each easter that we ask people to put flowers on.  The reason for this is that we are taking a terrible thing such as Jesus’ crucifixion and changing it into a beautiful thing by recognizing that Jesus overcame death.  We also acknowledge that due to this event, we can can change our lives also and have a new life by following Jesus.

Our cross had an accident on the way to the service and the horizontal bar fell out of the truck that was transporting it and broke into several pieces.  Since the cross was broken, we were not able to stand it up, but we decided to put the vertical part down on the ground and then place flowers were the horizontal part would have been.

We were sad that the cross we had for so many years had been broken, but after some reflection, we realized that this is a metaphor for our lives.  There have been many times in my life when I have been through trials that I thought I would never get through, but God has always been there to help me through them.  Sometimes it was not quite the resolution I wanted but in the end it was the best solution for me.  Our cross was broken but we made the best of it and it turned out to be even more beautiful.  I will post a picture of it so you know what I mean.

I hope you had a wonderful Easter and will continue to be blessed through out the year!Image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
